It’s been a while

Gooooood afternoon!

“It’s been a while” is a fitting tagline for this blog. Someone (me) evidently didnt strike that all-important ‘work-life balance’ last year. However, I’m back and I’m… older? The last blog post I wrote focused on my transition from second to third year of medical school. So, in keeping with tradition, it’s only right that this post focuses on my transition from third year to… hang on, wait for it… fourth year 😉

Third year of medical school was interesting. It can be nicely summed up by the opening lines of ‘A Tale of Two Cities’:

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,
It was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness…”

I learnt a lot, forgot a lot, worked a lot, chilled a lot more, made new friends, lost some others, got my shit together, lost it a few weeks later.
Essentially, I was my own barrier. The experiences and opportunities I had last year were amazing but my mindset, however, was the complete opposite. I became very lazy. Let me tell ya, laziness and medical school is a dangerous combination. I managed to pass my assessments but my reluctance to work throughout the year made it needlessly difficult. The desire to work and revise stemmed from the fear of failing, so revision was left to the last possible minute. Although I passed everything, I could have performed a lot better. That’s life, I guess.

I have decided to adopt a healthier attitude in fourth year. It’s worked out so far but it has only been 16 days…

My drafts folder is bursting with posts about medical school, particularly clinical years, so they’ll hopefully be making their way to the published folder. Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “It’s been a while

Leave a reply